All You Need To Know About UPSC CSE EXAM

                                  All you need to know about the UPSC CSE Exam!


The central agency of India for examinations, UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) conducts the examination for Civil Services, IAS, IFS, IRS, IPS, etc every year. It is commonly called as the IAS Examination and includes the  IPS, IRPS, IRS, IFS, etc.

The Civil Services Exam is one of the most reputable and difficult Sarkari Exams in India. It is considered very tough to crack and is not everyone’s cup of tea . Every year, around lakhs of candidates enroll themselves, hoping for the best, but with only around 1000 succeed (vacancies varies from year to year), most of the dreams remain dreams. The ratio of candidates writing the exam to candidates selected is somewhere close to 5000:1.

It clearly shows how only hard working and extremely intelligent applicants can make their way to the offices. Planning and implementation are very important for the applicants. High IQ and intellectual quality in an applicant can give them a lead.

Below mentioned are the details required for eligibility to sit for the UPSC Examination:

  • IAS, IFS and IPS  ( All 3 All India Services ) candidates have to be a citizen of India or a subject of Nepal or Bhutan.
  • For IRS and others, one must be one from the following:
    • A citizen of India.
    • A person from Indian origin planning to settle down in India migrating back from Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia, or Vietnam.
    •  a subject of Nepal, or
    •  a subject of Bhutan, or
    •  a Tibetan refugee who came over to India before 1st January, 1962 with the intention of
      permanently settling in India, etc

Academic Qualifications:

  • A degree from a Central, State or Deemed University or any other equivalent.
  • Candidates appearing/have appeared their final examinations.
  • Medical and Engineering students/ Professional Degree Holders.

Fulfilling any of the above listed qualifications can make one eligible to sit for the round one of the selection process:

Number of Attempts:

The general candidates can sit for the exam only 6 times while OBC candidates can sit for it 9 times. Also, there is no attempt restriction for the ST/SC candidates as per norms.

Age Limit:

Any candidate willing to sit for the UPSC exam must’ve crossed the age of 21 and should be below the age of 32 years on August 1 of the corresponding year of examination (General Category).

Here is a list of different sectors of the society with their eligibility age:

  • OBC:       32 + 3 =      35 years
  • ST/SC:    32 + 5 =        37 years.
  • J&K Domicile (from the 1st day of January, 1980 to the 31st day of
    December, 1989) : 32 + 5 = 37 years ,OBC: 32 + 5 + 3 ,ST/SC: 32 + 5 + 5
  • Ex-servicemen: 32 + 5 = 37 years
  • PH Candidates: 32 + 10 = 42 years

Stages of the Examination:

Stage I: All applicants have to first sit for the prelims which consists of two objective-type papers: paper -1( General Studies) and Paper -2 (Aptitude)

Stage II: It is the main examination, the UPSC. It consists of nine subjective-type papers and requires you to attempt them with utmost smartness and precision.

Stage III: The UPSC interview.

Reading all of these might sound easy to you, but when you have a winning ratio of 1:5000, who would not be nervous? The competition in the UPSC exam is a lot. Only the ones who are hardworking, having High IQ  and knows how to work smart win this race.

Enrolling and sitting for such exams make us face our fears. We realize our true potential, as we try to give our best. We should accept knowing the fact that the odds of winning are very low. Losing is something we should accept gracefully and it is something take in your stride. If one doesn’t qualify for the UPSC even after several tries, it’s okay. The odds are very less. It’s time to use your potential to build a better future for yourself.

Best wishes for all those who gonna appear for UPSC CSE 2019 exam on 2nd June 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.